Contact: Judy Shimek, (406) 255-2928,

Helena Win

Helena High School, Team A, made up of (from left to right) Alex Flynn, Casey Schwartz, Mark Sargent, Thomas Culver, Coach Jerry McCarthy and Bridger Howell, won the Big Sky Regional Science Bowl Feb. 4 in Billings, Mont. The team will participate in the National Science Bowl hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy April 26-30 in Washington, D.C.


BILLINGS, Mont.—Helena High School, Team A, won the Big Sky Regional Science Bowl Feb. 4 at the Crown Plaza Hotel. The winning team, including Casey Schwartz, Thomas Culver, Mark Sargent, Bridger Howell and Alex Flynn and Coach Jerry McCarthy, advances to Washington, D.C., April 26-30 to compete against more than 77 other regional winners in the national finals of the Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl.

C.M. Russell High School Team B of Great Falls finished in second place and Helena Team B finished in third.

Twenty-six teams from 17 high schools from across Montana competed for the regional title. Many of these teams spent months preparing for this regional event, which features head-to-head competition in a fast-paced question and answer format similar to Jeopardy. The students competed to be the first to answer questions on all science disciplines including astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, mathematics and physics, as well as math.

Glasgow Team rises as Middle School champions

In addition to the high school competition, middle school students held their own Science Bowl event Feb. 3. Emerging as No.1 in the academic event was Glasgow Middle School from Glasgow, and this team will also advance to the national competition in Washington, D.C.
North Middle School of Great Falls finished second and Will James Middle School of Billings finished third.
The first place team for the Lithium Ion Battery powered car design and speed race, held Feb.4, was Will James Middle School.

About Science Bowl

This is the 20th year for the Big Sky Regional Science Bowl hosted by Western Area Power Administration. Science Bowl encourages high school students to excel in math and science and to pursue careers in those fields.  Major supporters for the event this year include HDR Engineering, the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE)– Billings Section, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and Vans Evergreen IGA.
More than 13,000 high school students from schools in 46 states and Puerto Rico will compete in the national competition. Since 1991, more than 130,000 students and teachers have participated. Details on the National Science Bowl can be found at